Minister Bruton announces new Board members of Caranua

Tonight Minuster Bruton has announced the New Board members of Caranua.

We welcome the Ministers announcement and wish the best of luck to all Board members. Considering this Board will be in situ for the Ministers review of Caranua and the potential winding up once the funds have been expended there is a clear opportunity and, more importantly, need for the Board to be representative of Survivors experiences coupled with a lot of work in anticipation of its closing date - ensuring Survivors views are at the core of potential discussions.

We are especillay supportive of the new Board member Mr. Francis Treanor BL who is also a board member of Right of Place Second Chance and will carry with him many years of work for and with Survivors alongside the general experiences of Survivors of Caranua and will no doubt add to the governance and services currently being offered by Caranua.

Having an input from Ireland's largest organsiation that supports Survivors of Institutional Abuse is critical in ensuring Caranua is offering the services most needed by Survivors.

The ministers official press release;

The Minister for Education and Skills, Richard Bruton, T.D., today announced appointments to the Board of Caranua (the Residential Institutions Statutory Fund) for 2017 – 2021
Caranua is a Statutory Body with the structure and functions set out in the Residential Institutions Statutory Fund Act 2012, with a 9 member Board which must include 4 former residents.

The Board of Caranua oversees the use of the cash contributions of up to €110 million pledged by the religious congregations to support the needs of some 15,000 survivors of residential institutional child abuse. These survivors have received awards from the Residential Institutions Redress Board or equivalent court awards.

The support to be provided will include a range of approved services, including health and personal social services, education and housing services. To date €97.3m in cash contributions and associated interest have been received and the balance of the €110m is expected to be received by end 2018.

The Board members are appointed for a four year term of office, commencing on 24 May, 2017. The positions are not remunerated.

The Board of Caranua will be composed of the following members:

Mr David O’Callaghan - Chairperson

Ordinary Members (former residents of institutions)
Mrs Frances Harrington
Mr Thomas Cronin
Mr Francis W. Treanor BL
Dr Mary T. Lodato

Other Ordinary Members
Mr Damian Casey
Mr Thomas Daly
Ms Patricia Carey
Ms Katherine Finn

Mr David O’Callaghan, Mrs Frances Harrington, Ms Katherine Finn, Mr Damian Casey and Mr Thomas Daly have been re-appointed to the Board, all having served one term, or part thereof, on the previous Board.

The Minister welcomed the appointments and wished all members well in the in their important and challenging role.

Add comment

Security code